Valentine’s Day

heartThis day is highly overrated. If you are in elementary school and someone leaves you out it hurts your feelings. You feel like an outsider. Those feelings continue into your adult life. My ex always used to say, “Why should I buy for you when you can buy what you want.” That was also his answer for Christmas, Mother’s Day and my birthday. He was right, but that didn’t make me feel loved or appreciated. I have some friends that have a tradition they are both happy with. They go to the store, he picks a card out, she reads it and then they return it to the shelf. That way he doesn’t feel like he wasted money when she is cleaning up and throws the card away. My roommates bought me supper tonight. I feel cared about.

Post your crap.

