Sexuality–When Did You Choose?

Anyone that knows me, knows that I usually keep silent on the topic of sexuality. There was a question posed on a video I watched that touched something in me and my mind keeps telling me to talk about it. This is my way of talking.

I myself have never had the thought or urge to engage in a sexual act with another female. I have been heterosexual my whole life and have enjoyed it immensely. A good satisfying sex life is vitally important to living your life. As a Christian, I do not believe that God condones the homosexual lifestyle. There are different passages that speak about homosexuals and sodomites (male homosexuals) and the fact that it is a sin. But, there are also many passages that talk about adultery and sexual sin. According to the Bible I have committed adultery most of my adult life because I have been divorced 3 times and have lived with some out of wedlock. Before condemning someone, remember, the Bible also says, in a lot of places, that we have a forgiving God. God has not given you the right to condemn others just because you do not agree with their lifestyle.

The question posed to people was, “Do you think homosexuality is a choice or did it just happen?” After they told what they thought they were asked, “When did you choose to be straight?” Before condemning someone in the future about being homosexual, you need to first point the finger at yourself and ask, “Am I free from any sin?” As I said in an earlier blog, even gossip is a sin, in the same category with murder. I never chose to be straight and of the many gay people I have known in my life, none ever said it was a choice they made. One called it a conscious decision.

God isn’t finished with me yet. His forgiveness will span our lifetime.

Post your crap.

